Contact Us

General Town Contact Information:

Town Hall Phone: #(802) 785-2922 Fax: #(802) 785-2031
Mailing Address: Thetford Town Offices 3910 Vermont Route 113 P.O. Box 126 Thetford Center, VT 05075
Email Town Clerk at townclerk@thetfordvermont.us
Email Selectboard at selectboard@thetfordvermont.us or selectboardassistant@thetfordvermont.us

CITIZEN’S GUIDE TO THETFORD, VERMONT Thetford is a town made up of five and a half villages on the Connecticut River, where the East and West Branches of the Ompompanoosuc River collect the watershed from hills descending from the ridges running north of the White River to the Green Mountains. About 2,500 people cohere around those villages, mostly in the lower reaches of these hills. About half of the working townspeople work in town, with the others mostly commuting about 20 minutes to the south to the business centers in Hanover and Lebanon, NH.

The small size of the individual villages gives Thetford a very small-town feel, even as it has grown to the size where other more centralized newcomers alongside long-time residents for 250 years, as Dartmouth College, a major local employer, has been around for about the same amount of time, producing something close to a consistent ratio of newcomers to oldtimers for eight generations. If you are new to town, you’ll likely find these communities enjoy a diversity of the old and new.

This Citizen’s Guide is designed to give people an quick overview of how the community and its government work, hopefully, encouraging involvement and better enjoyment.

HOW THETFORD GOVERNMENT WORKS

OVERVIEW OF TOWN GOVERNMENT

Thetford is run by its voters. They elect a Selectboard of five members that acts collectively as the town’s law making body. No one Selectboard member has the power to make a major decision without first getting a majority of the Selectboard to agree on the matter in a public meeting.

To help it govern the town, the Selectboard appoints people to a series of committees that deal with specific topics, such as conservation, energy, elder network, development, planning, and recreation. These committees will often directly control specific issues while coming back to the Selectboard for some key decisions.   These committees will elect a chair each year after the Town Meeting.

Any member of the public has a legal right to be present at the committee’s meetings and to have an opportunity to provide input to the body for consideration.

The Selectboard will designate specific members as liaisons to committees, please see Selectboard Webpage.

AREAS OF RESPONSIBILITY FOR TOWN MATTERS

In addition to the Selectboard and the town committees, there are several independently elected offices, a few appointed by the state, and several hired town employees.

The townspeople directly elect several important people. The Selectboard does not have a direct control over their management. These include the Town Moderator who runs the annual meeting; the Town Clerk, who records documents and other duties; the Town Treasurer, who is responsible for town accounting, collecting taxes, processing revenue, and paying the town expenditures, the Listers, who set the assessed value of all real property in town so that it can be taxed fairly, and Collector of Delinquent Taxes, who addresses unpaid property tax issues.

The Selectboard hires staff to fill the roles of the Department of Public Works (DPW), Zoning Administrator, Recreation Coordinator, Recycling Coordinator, Selectboard Assistant, and others to support the town operations.

The Thetford School District is administered by its own School Board that has authority independent of the town, although it still falls under town governance as any other corporation or land owner would.   The School Board has its own elections, its own annual meeting and asks voters to approve taxes for its own separate funds.

 

 

Issue Needing Attention Contact Person/Department Best Contact
Animal Control Stuart Rogers Stuart.P.Rogers@valley.net
Cemeteries Cemetery Commission MoMMc5@aol.com
Delinquent Taxes Mary Danner Pomeroy CDT@thetfordvermont.us
Dog Enforcement Issue Stuart Rogers Stuart.P.Rogers@valley.net
Dog, Ferret & Wolf Hybrids Licenses Tracy Borst, Town Clerk TownClerk@thetfordvermont.us
Dump/Recycling Permits Tracy Borst, Town Clerk TownClerk@thetfordvermont.us
Elections/Voting/Running for Office Tracy Borst, Town Clerk TownClerk@thetfordvermont.us
Emergency Management Mariah Whitcomb ThetfordFire@gmail.com
Fire Warden Chad Whitcomb ThetfordFire@gmail.com
Food Shelf Laurie Ingalls, Town Service Officer Karolasting@aol.com
General Selectboard Selectboard@thetfordvermont.us
Help for Businesses Selectboard Selectboard@thetfordvermnt.us
Land Records Tracy Borst, Town Clerk TownClerk@thetfordvermont.us
Land Use Issues Mary Ellen Parkman, Zoning Administrator Zoning@thetfordvermont.us
Police Matters Chief Michael Evans #(802) 785-2200, Michael.Evans@vermont.gov
Property Valuations Janet Stowell, Listers Listers@thetfordvermont.us
Recreation Programs Recreation@thetfordvermont.us
Recycling Center Coordinator  Sally Bugg
Road Issues Chad Martin, Dept. of Public Works PublicWorks@thetfordvermont.us
State Road Issues Tammy Ellis, AOT Manager Tammy.Ellis@state.vt.us
Tax Payments & Finances Jill Graff, Town Treasurer Treasurer@thetfordvermont.us
Town Policies/Ordinance Issues Selectboard Selectboard@thetfordvermont.us
Tri-Town Commission James Dixon J.Dixon@thetfordvermont.us
Volunteer Opportunities Selectboard Selectboard@thetfordvermont.us

 

THETFORD LISTSERV An online e-mail forum called the Thetford Listserv allows for announcements and other activities throughout Thetford. The listserv has no official relationship with the Town Governance.

TOWN COMMITTEE MEMBER HANDBOOK 2011

FULL CONTACT LIST FOR TOWN ELECTED, APPOINTED OFFICIALS, TOWN PERSONNEL, AND INDIVIDUALS SERVING THETFORD

THETFORD OFFICIALS

Elected and Appointed Officials Pages

THETFORD ELECTED OFFICIALS

[term expires in “( )”]

 
Cemetery Commissioners – 3 year
Sam Eaton (‘18) 333-9232
Mark McMahon (‘19) 603-667-0335 MoMMc5@aol.com
John Wilmot (‘17) 785-4090
Collector of Delinquent Taxes – 3 year
Mary Dan Pomeroy (‘17) 785-2922 cdt@thetfordvermont.us
DPW Foreman
Chad Martin 785-4679 publicworks@thetfordvermont.us
Justices of the Peace – 2 year
Richard Balagur 785-4514 richard@balagur.com
Robin Brown 333-4727 rrbrown1122@gmail.com
Cathee Clement 785-2668 turtlepond@netzero.net
Wendy Cole 785-2698 wendy.s.cole@valley.net
Bill Huff 785-4640 chugalugskipper@gmail.com
Bill Keegan 333-9372 bill.b.keegan@gmail.com
Rick Maynard 333-9130 maynardmoon@aol.com
Sherry Merrick 333-9598 merricksherry@gmail.com
Cyrus Severance 333-4436 severance@valley.net
Janet Shepler 785-2431 janetshepler@yahoo.com
Listers – 3 year
Denise Adams (‘18) 785-2922 listers@thetfordvermont.us
Diane Osgood (‘17) 785-2922 listers@thetfordvermont.us
Janet Stowell (‘19) 785-2922 listers@thetfordvermont.us
Representatives for Orange-Windsor
Tim Briglin 785-2414 tbriglin@leg.state.vt.us
James Masland 785-4146 jmasland@leg.state.vt.us
School Directors – 2 & 3 year
Julie Acker (‘17) 785-2449 jacker.vt@gmail.com
Charlie Buttrey (‘18) 785-4005 charliebuttrey@yahoo.com
Shannon Darrah, Chair (‘19) 649-1505 shabbott88@gmail.com
Kristen Downey (‘18) kristen.downey77@gmail.com
Erin Sterner (‘17) 603-369-0114 erin.sterner@gmail.com
 
School Moderator – 1 year
Mark McMahon (‘17) 603-667-0335 MoMMc5@aol.com

 

Selectboard – 2 & 3 year selectboard@thetfordvermont.us
John Bacon (‘17) 785-4831 govehillbacon@gmail.com
James Dixon (‘17) 785-4223 dixonj@hartfordschools.net
Jessica Eaton, V Chair (‘18) 333-9491 j.eaton@thetfordvermont.us
vacant(‘18)
Stuart Rogers, Chair (‘19) 785-4392 stuart.p.rogers@valley.net
Marty Moses, Selectboard Assistant – Appointed
 
Senator-Orange County
Mark MacDonald 433-5867
 
Sheriff of Orange County
Bill Bohnyak 685-4875
 
Town Clerk – 3 year
Tracy Borst (‘19) 785-2922 townclerk@thetfordvermont.us
 
Town Moderator – 1 year
Mark McMahon (‘17) 603-667-0335 MoMMc5@aol.com
 
Town Treasurer– 3 year
Jill Graff (‘17) 785-2922 treasurer@thetfordvermont.us
 
Trustees of Latham Library
Diana Kimball-Anderson (‘17) 785-4404
Pauline Cole (‘17) 785-2016
Tara Durkee (‘19) 785-4850
Pamela Fein (‘19) 785-4443
Beth Fernandez (‘18) 785-2073
Joanne Kirsten (‘18) 785-4613
Megan O’Dell (‘18) 785-4223
Merit Scotford (‘17)
 
Trustee of Peabody Library – 3 year (one elected trustee required)
Jill Koppers (‘17) 333-3268 peabody@jillanddirk.com
 
Trustees of Trust Funds – 3 year
Elmer Brown (‘17) 785-2167
J. Rick Hoffman (‘19) 785-2438
Joe Tofel (‘18) 649-1434

 

APPOINTED OFFICERS

 

 

Animal Control Officer

Stuart Rogers (‘17) 785-4392
Assistant Town Clerk
Lori Magoon 785-2922
Assistant Treasurer
Rebecca Buchanan 785-2922
Conservation Commission
Jason Berard (‘18) 333-4302 jason.berard@uvlt.org
Libby Chapin (‘18) 333-9308 lib.chapin@gmail.com
Ann Lavanway, Sec (‘18) 785-9814 ann.m.lavanway@dartmouth.edu
Steven Lehman (‘18) 785-4241 slehman616@gmail.com
Robert Pulaski, Trsr (‘17) 333-4627 bobpulaski@myfairpoint.net
Li Shen, Chair (‘17) 785-4950 lilian.shen.vt@gmail.com
Jeff Smith (‘18) 785-2615 jeffrey.r.smith@valley.net
Connie Snyder (‘18) 785-2729 c.crovosnyder@valley.net
Development Review Board
Jesse Anderson (‘17) 917-407-5116 vermontian@gmail.com
Bill Bridge (‘17) 785-2964 unharried@gmail.com
Don Longwell (‘18) 785-4971 vtlongwell@aol.com
Sean Mullen, Chair (‘18) 785-4373 mullharvey@valley.net
Tim Taylor (‘18) 333-4455 tim@crossroadfarm.com
Emergency Management Director
Mariah Whitcomb 802-291-1445 thetfordemergencymanagement@gmail.com
Energy Committee
Ellen Blumberg (‘18) 785-9883 mjblumberg@valley.net
Marc Chabot (‘18) 785-4459 marcchabotvt@gmail.com
Chris Hebb (‘16) 333-9689 chris.hebb@valley.net
Michael Kiess (‘16) 785-2438 michaelkiessvt@gmail.com
Manny Grewal (‘16) 333-3292 manohar.grewal@gmail.com
Joel Legunn (‘18) 785-3041 joel.legunn@gmail.com
Alice Stewart (‘17) 785-3087 afs@finowen.net
Bob Walker, Chair (‘17) 785-4126 bwalker@serg-info.org
Fire Warden
Chad Whitcomb (‘19) 333-4123 chad@whitcombwelding.com
Greater UV Solid Waste District Representative
Ben Bradley (‘16) 785-4245
Jim Masland, Alt (‘16) 785-4146 jmasland@leg.state.vt.us
Health Officer
Alford Stone (‘19) 785-4503
Historian
Marshall Van Norden (‘17) 333-4574

 

Historic Preservation Committee
Stephen Branchflower (‘17) 785-2667 stephen@smithandvansant.com
John Hall, Chair (‘16) 333-4077 jwhallvt@gmail.com
Roney Hoffman (‘17) 785-2438 roney.hoffman@gmail.com
Doug Miller, Sec (‘16) 802-299-6458 firstlightrenovations@gmail.com
Vacant
Planning Commission
Liz Ryan Cole (‘17) 785-4124 lizryancole@me.com
Jason Crance (‘18) jason@crancelaw.com
Patricia Norton (‘16) 785-4740 pninvt@gmail.com
Kevin O’Hara, Chair (‘16) 333-4846 kevin@oharagercke.com
Michael Schunk (‘16) 785-2574 thetfordhilldesign@gmail.com
Jamie Thaxton (‘18) 785-4222 james.thaxton.01@gmail.com
Dean Whitlock (‘16) 785-2012 boatman@deanwhitlock.com
Police Department
Michael Evans, Police Chief 785-2200
Stuart Rogers, Patrol Officer 785-2200
Recreation Advisory Council
Andrew Davis, Chair (‘17) 333-9557 andrew.davis@snocountry.org
Deb Dixon, Sec. (‘17) 785-4363
Sara Ecker (‘16)
Marla Ianello (‘17) 785-2912 marla.ianello@gmail.com
Douglas Kennedy (‘17) 785-3175
Jeff Vaughan (‘17) 785-9839
Mike Wells, V Chair (‘16) 785-4731
Treasure Island Manager
Nathan Maxwell Recreation Director 785-2922
Recreation Director
 Nathan Maxwell 785-2922  recreation@thetfordvermont.us
Road Commissioner
Senior & Affordable Housing Committee
Betty Campbell (‘16) 785-2407 bettylc55@gmail.com
David Fisk (‘16) 333-9607 Lutefisk_us@yahoo.com
Dale Gephart, (‘17) 333-9748 dale.s.gephart@dartmouth.edu
Scott Hesser (‘17) 617-285-0688 scotthesser@me.com
Manny Grewal (‘16) 333-3292 manohar.grewal@gmail.com
Mark McMahon, Chair (‘17) 603-667-0335 MoMMc5@aol.com
Heinz Trebitz (‘17) 785-2129 lht63@wavecomm.com
Thetford Elder Network
Jody Biddle, Chair 785-4508
Betty Campbell 785-2407
Martha Daum 785-4274
Sue Gault, Secretary 785-2805
Dale Gephart, V Chair 333-9748
Priscilla (Pril) Hall 333-4077


 

Thetford Elder Network (continued)
Cathy Newbury 785-3136
Susan Rump 785-4029
Inge Trebitz 785-2129
Town Service Officer
Laurie Ingalls (‘17) 785-3190 karolasting@aol.com
Treasure Island Advisory Council
Jane Chambers
Lisa Cudhea 333-9367
Sara Ecker 785-4209
Ehrhard Frost 785-4749
Alexis Jetter 785-2125
Keith Merrick, Chair 333-9598
Cynthia Odell 785-2400
Tree Warden
Tri Town Commission
James Dixon 785-4223 j.dixon@thetfordvermont.us
Ridge Satterthwaite ridgevt@gmail.com
Renee Snow reneelsnow@gmail.com
Two Rivers-Ottauquechee RPC
Jim Masland, (‘16) 785-4146 jmasland@leg.state.vt.us
Upper Valley Ambulance
Robin Pettingill (‘16) 333-9882
Zoning Administrator – 3 year
Mary Ellen Parkman (‘18) 785-2922 zoning@thetfordvermont.us
Notaries Public

Karin Bonnett

785-2543
Mike Brown 785-4536
Wendy Cole 785-2698
Kate Cone 785-2964
Lynn J. Daley 785-4336
Emily S. Davis 649-2729
Dana C. Grossman 785-4074
Daniel F. Grossman 785-4074
Mary M. Hathorn 333-9176
Lynn Irwin 785-4581
Rick Maynard 333-9130
Kathy McQueen 785-4493
Diane C. Osgood 522-9376
Gloria Thurston 785-4805
Susie Weider 785-4014

 

Related Files
Thetford Business Directory   Thetford Business Directory

Committee Member Handbook 2011

DSC_1359 - Version 3

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA